The History of the World Series of Poker

The World Series of Poker is the most prestigious Poker tournament in the world and is held annually in Las Vegas.

The very first World Series of Poker was held way back in 1970 at Binion’s Horseshoe Casino in Las Vegas. The overall champion was Johnny Moss, who didn’t even win a single tournament, but rather, was voted the best all-round player.

In 1973 the World Series was broadcast on television for the first time and then, in 1978, the World Series of Poker had its first woman player, Barbara Freer.

Later, in 1990, Mansour Matloubi, became the first non-American player to be crowned the Series champion. A year later, in 1991, the first million-dollar prize was awarded.

In 2003, the Series was won by Chris Moneymaker who was the first online qualifier to do so. He went home with a grand total of $2,5 Million. In 2009, Joe Cada became the youngest person to ever win the Series at 21 years, 11 months old. He is also ranked as one of the Series’ top earning players ever, with total World Series of Poker earnings at $9,028,904. The highest ever earning player is Antonio Esfandiari with $19,573,799. The second highest earning player is Phil Hellmuth with $12,189,531, who also holds the record for most World Series bracelets won at 13.

Nowadays, the World Series of Poker has expanded out of Las Vegas into a Poker Circuit allowing players from all over USA and the world to take part.


Leave a Reply